Compton Community College District - Citizens' Oversight Committee

As outlined in Education Code Section 15278, the role of the Compton Community College District (CCCD) Citizens’ Bond Oversight Committee is to “inform the public concerning the District’s expenditure of revenues received from the sale of bonds authorized by the voters.” Members are appointed by the Special Trustee for the CCCD and serve a term of two years, with a two-term maximum. Members do not receive any compensation or benefits for their service. The committee meets on a quarterly basis.


After being dormant for several years, the CCCD reconstituted the Citizens’ Bond Oversight Committee (CBOC) in May 2012.


The Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee members are:


Martha Brown - Chair, Community Representative, a board member and treasurer of the National Black Music Caucus (NASPAAM), is a retired music specialist who worked for the Los Angeles and Long Beach Unified School Districts. Brown served as a supervisor of student teachers in music education at California State University, Long Beach. She earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in music education from the Chicago Musical College division at Roosevelt University; a Master’s of Music degree from Western Michigan University; a Master’s of Music Therapy degree from the University of Kansas; and a Doctor of Musical Arts degree from the University of Southern California.


Larry Edmonds - Senior Citizens Organization Representative 
Edmonds is a member of the Salvation Army Compton Corps advisory board, and is retired after more than 40 years of employment with the Los Angeles County. His most recent role was serving as a Senior Disaster Specialist Manager. Edmonds attended Harbor College, as well as the former Compton College where he studied Business Administration. Edmonds is the newest member appointed to the Citizens’ Bond Oversight Committee.


Mark Guillen – Taxpayer Association Representative

Guillen is president of the Lake Terrace Home Owners’ Association in Paramount, Calif., and a long-time active community member of the Compton Community College District. He has previously participated as a member of the CCCD Citizens’ Bond Oversight Committee, and as chairman of the CCCD Redistricting Committee. Guillen earned a bachelor’s degree in biology from the University of California, Los Angeles and also attended UCLA’s School of Motion Pictures and Television.


Eduardo Morales – Student Representative

Morales graduated from Cesar Chavez Continuation High School in 2012 and enrolled at El Camino College Compton Center in 2013. He was elected by his peers to the Associated Student Body council as the commissioner of athletics for the 2014-15 academic year. He is also currently a First Year Experience program student ambassador. Morales plans to graduate with an associate degree in spring 2016 and transfer to a four-year university to major in sociology.


Arturo Ramos - Community Representative is a Neighborhood Preservation Officer for the City of Lynwood. He is a member of the Lynwood Unified School District’s Parent Organizing Network and treasurer for Lynwood Save Our Students. He has also served as an officer for several advisory committees and advocacy groups supporting the Lynwood Unified School District. Ramos earned a degree in computer engineering from California State University, Long Beach.


Irene Shandell - Community Representative 

Shandell is retired from the Internal Revenue Service where she supervised revenue officers. Her responsibilities involved administering, supervising, and performing work related to collecting delinquent taxes, surveying for unreported taxes, and securing delinquent returns. She is currently a Court Appointed Special Advocate for foster children (CASA of Los Angeles). The City of Compton’s mayor appointed Shandell commissioner assigned to the Oversight Committee. She received a bachelor’s degree in general education from California State University, Dominguez Hills, with a minor in public administration.


Marjorie Shipp – Community-At-Large Representative

Shipp was born in Basile, Louisiana, and moved to Compton in 1958. She earned both a master’s degree in education and a bachelor’s degree in diversified education from the University of Southern California. Shipp attended the former Compton Community College where she earned an associate degree in 1969.


Paul Simpson – Foundation Representative

Simpson is currently the chief operating officer of SageTel International, LLC. He is responsible for managing projects, and developing and managing business requirements by defining project milestones and document process flow. He currently serves as the president of the Foundation for the Compton Community College District. He earned a bachelor’s degree in business management economics from the University of California, Santa Cruz, and an Advanced Project Management Certificate from Stanford University.


Anthony Yanes – Community-at-Large Representative

Yanes is a long-time resident of Paramount who is the director of the After School Unlimited Learning Center in the city of Paramount. Prior to his current position, he worked for nine years as a financial analyst for a consulting firm. Yanes earned a master’s degree in both business administration and education.