Compton Community College District - Board of Trustees


Board of Trustees


Nicole J Jones  Nicole J. Jones, President (Trustee Area 2)

Nicole J. Jones is a resident of Willowbrook who serves as the Senior Special Assistant for California State Controller Betty Yee. She has experience in nonprofit management, public affairs and philanthropy, and has worked across multiple sectors including government, foundations, higher education and civic organizations. Jones earned a master’s of public administration degree at Bernard M. Baruch College in New York, and a bachelor’s degree in social sciences with an emphasis on urban education from the University of California, Berkeley.

Sonia Lopez

Sonia Lopez, Vice President (Trustee Area 3)

Sonia Lopez resides in the city of South Gate and is a field representative for California State Senator Holly Mitchell of the 30th District. She previously worked as an office manager for Mitchell when she represented the 54th Assembly District in Los Angeles. Lopez earned a bachelor’s degree in Chicano Studies/ Political Science from the University of California, Riverside.

 LoWanda Green  LoWanda Green, Clerk (Trustee Area 5)

LoWanda Green resides in the city of Compton and has worked as both an educator and an entrepreneur. Green attended El Camino College where she enrolled in business and child development courses. Prior to attending El Camino College, she graduated from Manual Arts High School.

Deborah Sims LeBlanc

Deborah LeBlanc, Member (Trustee Area 4)

Deborah Sims LeBlanc resides in the city of Paramount, and is an associate professor for the School of Business and Management at National University in Los Angeles where she has taught for 22 years. She earned a doctorate in public administration and a master’s degree in organizational behavior from the University of La Verne, and a second master’s degree in public administration from USC. At National University, she earned her final three master’s degrees in human services, educational administration and cross-cultural teaching. LeBlanc began her undergraduate education by earning a bachelor’s degree in political science from Cal Poly Pomona.

Andres Ramos  Andres Ramos, Member (Trustee Area 1)

Andres Ramos was elected to the Compton Community College District Board of Trustees for the first time in November 2007 at the age of 22, making him the youngest Latino board member in the District’s history. He is a native of Lynwood and is a product of the Lynwood Unified School District. Ramos attended Long Beach City College and transferred to USC where he earned a bachelor’s degree in communications. Currently, he is pursuing a master’s degree in communication studies at California State University, Los Angeles.


Theodore Somers, Student Trustee

Theodore (Ted) Somers is a Long Beach resident who began his educational journey at Compton College in fall of 2016. He serves as the first president of Compton College's award-winning Formerly Incarcerated Student Transition (F.I.S.T.) program, and made the college's Dean's List for the 2017-18 academic year. He currently has a 3.5 GPA and is on track to graduate with an associate degree for transfer in June 2019. He plans to transfer to a local four-year university to pursue a double major in psychology and behavioral science.